Law Offices of Robin Estes
HomeAbout Robin EstesFamily LawCollaborative LawTrusts and WillsMediationResourcesContact

Divorce, Custody & Family Law

Certified Specialists

Only attorneys that are certified by the Board of Legal Specialization of the State Bar of California may represent themselves as Family Law Specialists. certified by the State Bar of California.

To be certified by the Board of Legal Specialization of the State Bar of California, an attorney must:

1. Be an active member in good standing of the State Bar of California;
2. Pass a written examination covering California Family Law ;
3. Have substantial experience in the field of Family Law having completed specific requirements in all areas of Family Law including Divorces, custody issues, restraining orders, etc;
4. Complete approved minimum legal education requirements applicable to the Family Law field (on a continuing basis);
5. Be evaluated positively by judges and other attorneys concerning their knowledge, ability and experience and abilities in the practice of Family Law.

Certification by the Board of Legal Specialization is for a five-year term. Then on a continuing basis and attorney must get recertified. Recertification for additional five-year periods does not require further "testing" but it does require that the attorney continue to comply with all the other standards and requirements.

Certification allows the public and other attorneys to be made aware of that attorneys experience and specialty. By continuing to follow the listed requirements, a Certified Family Law Specialist maintains and improves their knowledge and competence in the Family Law field.

Names and addresses of all State Bar Certified Family Law Specialists may be obtained from the office of the Board of Legal Specialization, State Bar of California, 100 Van Ness Avenue, 28th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94102 415/241-2136.

In addition you may find this information on the State Bar Web Site


Website design by HYPERSPHERE
©2009 Robin M. Estes. All rights reserved.